music (again)

This post about music can at least be blame on someone else–Ashley Gill made me do it.  She begs to know what my favorite summer music is

Normally, I would have a pretty stellar playlist to pull from, but, truth be told, this summer has been odd and overwhelming and stressful.  In ways I could not have necessarily predicted, so I think a lot of the music I’ve had on repeat is probably more in the Autumn category.  I’ve listened to a lot of Band of Horses, Redbird, the FInches, and (of coures) Hem and Iron & Wine.  A few summertime (re)discoveries include Tilly and the Wall, Mates of State, and Josh Ritter.  They’re pretty summer-full, at least the first two are.  The Fleet Foxes seem a bit over-hyped, but I still love their album and their harmonies, and their winter-wear during concerts in Texas.

Though someone bothered that I don’t have a go-to summer list, I did make my dad a compilation album of which I am rather proud.  So I’ll share that list:

“Gospel, For Now”
1 & 2. “Run Devil Run” & “The Big Guns”–Jenny Lewis and the Watson Twin
3. “Your Long Journey”–Alison Krauss and Robert Plant
4. “One Voice”–The Wailin’ Jenny
5. “Muddy Hymnal”–Iron & Wine
6. “We Shall Not Be Moved”–Mavis Staples
7. “Take This Bread”–The Felice Brothers
8. “Everlasting Arms”–Fret Not
9. “Be Thou My Vision”–Gathering Miriam
10. “By The Mark”–Gillian Welch
11. “Holy Ground”–Luka Bloom
12. “Glory Bound”–Martin Sexton
13. “Failed Christian (Ash Wednesday Mix)”–Over the Rhine
14. “Glory”–The Acorn
15. “I’ll Fly Away” (slow version)–Gathering Miriam
16. “Finlandia”–Indigo Girls (please read lyrics)
17. “Swing Low Sweet Chariot”–She & Him

Chime in!

