admitting defeat.

Yes, Guinnes is a cute dog. Yes, the idea of a cute little thing following me around with sad eyes and an indefatigable sense of loyalty.

But the truth is I made the decision too quickly. And I’m not ready. It feels all-to-dramatic and as though I’m contemplating some kind of true motherhood (I’m not). But in the end, I had to give Guinness back.

I know.

After many many tears and feelings of disappointment and failure and all those things, it became obvious that the best thing for both me and him would be the most humbling thing.

(There’s a sermon illustration in there somewhere.)

So, if anyone is in Waco and wants a sweet puppy (with an even sweeter name), you can find Guinness at the Humane Society.

Chime in!

